Back to Winners

Contribution to the Development of Nations 2014

Dr. Saeed Abdullah Al Soyan

Saudi Arabia

Professor Dr. Al Soyan is a Saudi academic and veteran researcher who holds a bachelor’s degree in sociology and a master’s degree in anthropology from the USA’s University of Northern Illinois and received a Ph.D. in anthropology, folklore and Oriental Studies from the University of California at Berkeley.
Dr. Al Soyan began his career as an assistant professor at King Saud University and then worked as a supervisor at the university’s Folklore Museum in the Faculty of Arts. He served as Chairman of the social studies department, until 1989, when he received a scholarship from Germany’s University of Erlangen-Nurnberg to conduct research and interview specialists in Oriental studies.

In 2003, he returned to work at King Saud University where he was promoted to a professor a position he still holds.
During his prosperous academic career, Dr. Al Soyan has worked on a number of important projects, including the collection of Nabati poetry from oral sources, a project funded by the research center at the Faculty of Arts at the University of King Saud. He has also worked on a documentary about King Abdulaziz Al-Saud, and the traditional culture of Saudi Arabia.
Dr. Al Soyan has a number of books published on the history and indexing of Nabati poetry and oral traditions, along with many scientific papers and articles in Arabic and English.

About The Book

The Award recognised Dr. Al Soyan’s tremendous efforts in gathering scientific data and covering a large spectrum of notions in the field of social sciences,as well as his ability to develop the notion of evolution from the mere biological spectrum, to the social, cultural, linguistic and economic spheres. In addition to the unity of his central thesis, Dr. Al Soyan also traced, from ancient history to modern times, the general concept of evolution through detailed accounts of its many contexts and eras to demonstrate the development of humankind.

Published: 2013