Zayed Book Award Board of Trustees Approves Winners

Abu Dhabi,

Abu Dhabi, March 12, 2017 – The Board of Trustees of Sheikh Zayed Book Award has approved the winners’ list put forward by the Award’s Scientific Committee for the eleventh cycle (2016 – 2017). The Board’s annual meeting was chaired by HE Sheikh Sultan Bin Tahnoon Al Nahyan, Member of the Executive Council of Abu Dhabi,joining the board’s members – Mohamed Khalifa Al Mubarak, Chairman of Abu Dhabi Tourism & Culture Authority; Saif Saeed Ghobash, Director General of Abu Dhabi Tourism & Culture Authority; Zaki Nusseibeh and Mohamed Al Mahmood, Board Members of Abu Dhabi Tourism & Culture Authority; alongside Dr. Ali Bin Tamim Secretary General of Sheikh Zayed Book Award; Saeed Hamdan Al Tunaiji, Award Manager; and Abdullah Majed Al-Ali Acting Executive Director of the National Library. In the meeting, Dr. Ali Bin Tamim, Secretary General of the Award, presented the statistical indicators of nominations in the current cycle in addition to showcasing the extensive work done by the reading and judging panels as well as the Scientific Committee to comprehensively review nominations and subsequent reports. Dr Ali Bin Tamim also elaborated on the preparations for the Award’s Grand Ceremony on April 30, parallel to Abu Dhabi International Book Fair proceedings. In turn, the Sheikh Zayed Book Award’s Board of Trustees approved the winners for the eleventh cycle across the categories of Literature; Children’s Literature; Contribution to the Development of Nations; Literary and Art Criticism; Translation; Arabic Culture in Other Languages; Publishing and Technology; and Cultural Personality of the Year. Meanwhile, titles in ‘Young Author’ category did not meet the Award’s standards. Consequently, the Board of Trustees opted to withhold the award allocated to it.