The Sheikh Zayed Book Award Board of Trustees Approves Winners for 15th Edition

Abu Dhabi,

Sheikh Zayed Book Award’s Board of Trustees has met to review the results of the 15th edition and approve the winners for the Award’s nine categories. The Board’s annual meeting was presided over by HE Sheikh Sultan Bin Tahnoon Al Nahyan, and attended by Board of Trustees members HE Mohamed Khalifa Al Mubarak, Chairman, the Department of Culture and Tourism - Abu Dhabi (DCT Abu Dhabi); HE Zaki Nusseibeh, Cultural Advisor to the UAE President; HE Saood Al Hosani, Undersecretary, DCT Abu Dhabi; HE Dr. Ali bin Tamim, Secretary General of the Sheikh Zayed Book Award (SZBA) and Chairman of the Abu Dhabi Arabic Language Centre and HE Abdulla Majed Al Ali, Executive Director of the National Archives. The meeting was also attended by Mouza Al Shamsi, Director of the Sheikh Zayed Book Award, Acting Executive Director, Abu Dhabi Arabic Language Centre.

The Board of Trustees chose the winners after reviewing the recommendations of the Scientific Committee. The announcement of the winners’ names will take place at the end of April, followed by a virtual award ceremony when the recipient of the ‘Cultural Personality of the Year’ accolade will be presented with a gold medal and a certificate of merit, as well as a prize of AED 1 million. Winners of other categories will each receive a gold medal, a certificate of merit and a prize of AED 750,000.

SZBA’s Board of Trustees is the body responsible for setting the general policies of the Award, its organisational structure, and for any decision concerning the award categories and/or winners. It oversees all the Award's activities and devises policies that help achieve its objectives.

The 15th edition of the Award is the largest in its history in terms of submissions, which this year saw a total of 2,349 submissions across nine categories – a 23% increase compared to the 14th edition. Only 25 submissions were selected to be on the shortlists that were released by the Award in March.

For more details about the Sheikh Zayed Book Award, please visit: