Due for announcement in April Board of Trustees approves Sheikh Zayed Book Award winners list

Abu Dhabi,

Abu Dhabi, March 25, 2014 – The Board of Trustees of Sheikh Zayed Book Award has granted its consent to the winners list put forward by the Award’s Scientific Committee for the eighth session of 2013 / 2014 across all nine categories. The Award received a ground breaking record of nominations this cycle amounting to more than 1385 across the Award’s nine categories – registering a growth rate of 12% over last session’s record. The full list of winners is scheduled for announcement in a press conference in April, to be followed by Award’s Presentation Ceremony, celebrating the winning achievements on 4th of May, coinciding with Abu Dhabi International Book Fair. Dr. Ali Bin Tamim, Secretary General of Sheikh Zayed Book Award presented the key cultural activities which were held parallel to the eighth session’s proceedings, and gave a glimpse on the Award’s performance for this session in numbers, in addition to showcasing the extensive work done by the reading and judging panels as well as the Scientific Committee to comprehensively review all nominations and subsequent reports. Bin Tamim also highlighted the ongoing preparations for the Award’s Ceremony, celebrating the winning achievements, to be held on May 4, 2014 at Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre. The Board of Trustees is headed by HE Sheikh Sultan Bin Tahnoon Al Nahyan, Head of Abu Dhabi Tourism and Culture Authority and the Board’s chairman, joining board members – H.E Zaki Nusseibeh, Advisor Ministry of Presidential Affairs, Mr. Mohammad Khalaf Al Mazroui, Advisor for Cultural & Heritage Affairs at the Court of HH Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Chairman of Cultural Programs & Heritage Festivals Committee – Abu Dhabi, Mr. Jumaa Al Qubaisi, Executive Director of the National Library, H.E. Mubarak Al-Muhairi, Director General of Abu Dhabi Tourism and Culture Authority and H.E. Dr. Ali Rashed Al Noaimi, Vice Chancellor UAE University, in addition to Dr. Ali Bin Tamim, Secretary General of the Sheikh Zayed Book Award. The Sheikh Zayed Book Award’s Board of Trustees has been the supreme power in the organizational structure of Sheikh Zayed Book Award. The Board is responsible for setting the general policies of the Award, determining its organizational structure, in addition to any decision concerning the award categories and or winners.