Sheikh Zayed Book Award – Previous Awards – 2017

2017 Award Ceremony

The 11th annual Sheikh Zayed Book Award Ceremony was held in the presence of dignitaries and prominent figures to honour the 2017 winners.
Held under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces, the ceremony was graced by the presence of His Highness Lt. General Sheikh Saif bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Interior, who presented the prizes to the eight winners, accompanied by Dr. Ali bin Tamim, Secretary General of the Sheikh Zayed Book Awards.

Ceremony Details

Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre

Sunday 30th April 2017

Literature Award

'Matar Sirri (Secret Rain)

Zuhair Abu Shayeb – Jordan/Palestine

Literature Award

‘al duhoor al thani l’ibn la’boon’ (The Second Appearance of Ibn Laboun)

Ismail Fahed Ismail – Kuwait

Literature Award

Yusra al Britaniya’ (British Yousra)

Ahmed Juma – Bahrain

Literature Award

‘Ja’izat al Taw’am’ (The Twin Prize)

Maysaloon Hadi – Iraq

Literature Award

‘al Suriyoon’ (The Syrians)

Moncef Ouhaïbi – Tunisia

Literature Award

7. ‘Lu’bat al Mighzal’ (The Spinning Wheel Game)

Haji Jabir – Eritrea

Literature Award

6. ‘Khayt al Rooh’ (The Soul’s Thread)

Mbarek Rabi – Morocco

Literature Award

‘an Tuhibbaka Jihan’ (To be Loved by Jihan)

Mekkawy Said – Egypt


Publishing and Technology Award

Dar Al Adab – Lebanon

Publishing and Technology Award

Al Mesbar Studies and Research Center

Contribution to the Development of Nations Award

Fil Islam al thaqafi (In cultural Islam)

Bensalem Himmich – Morroco

Contribution to the Development of Nations Award

Jadal Aldin wal hadatha (The Controversy of Religion and Modernity)

Salah Salem – Egypt

Arabic Culture in Other Languages Award

Pensée et politique dans le monde Arabe : Contextes historiques et problématiques, XIXe-XX

Georges Corm

Arabic Culture in Other Languages Award

Al-Jahiz: In Praise of Books

James E. Montgomery

Children’s Literature Award

Al Zi’ba Um Kaseb (Umm Kaseb, the She-Wolf)

Lina Al Hasan – Syria

Children’s Literature Award

Al Manzel al Azraq (the Blue House)

Samah Ezzat – Egypt


Useful Downloads

Contact SZBA
Sign up to the Sheikh Zayed Book Awards Newsletter
© 2018 All Rights Reserved - Sheikh Zayed Book Awards