2016 Award Ceremony

Under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces, the 10th Sheikh Zayed Book Award ceremony was held on May1st the sidelines of the Abu Dhabi International Book Fair.
H.H. Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Presidential Affairs attended the ceremony and honored winners of the Award in the presence of Sheikh Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan, Minister of Culture and Knowledge Development, Sheikh Sultan bin Tahnoon Al Nahyan, Member of the Executive Council, ministers, senior officials and diplomats.

Ceremony Details

Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre

Sunday 1st May 2016

The winners of the tenth Cycle included Lebanses born-French writer Amin Malouf who was named the "Cultural Personality of the Year." Other winners were Dr. Jamal Sanad Al Suwaidi from the UAE for his book 'The mirage'; Ibrahim Abdel Maguid from Egypt, for his work 'Beyond writing'; Dr. Said Yaqteen from Morocco who authored a book on Arab literary thinking; Dr. Keyan Ahmed Hazem Yahya from Iraq for his translation of the bestseller 'The meaning of meaning' by C. K. Ogden and I. A. Richards; Scholar Roshdi Rashid from France/Egypt for his research 'Angles et Grandeur'; and the Lebanon-based Dar Al Saqi Publishing House.

Publishing and Technology Award

Dar Al-Saqi – Lebanon

Publishing and Technology Award

Asala Publishing

Arabic Culture in Other Languages Award

Islam in Liberalism

Joseph Andoni Massad

Arabic Culture in Other Languages Award

Les Èlites Bagdadiennes au Temps des Seldjoukides’

Vanessa Van Renterghem

Arabic Culture in Other Languages Award

Angles et Grandeur

Roshdi Rashed – Egypt

Children’s Literature Award

Eed fi ibreeq

Nouf Alosaimi

Children’s Literature Award

Al bahth ‘an al saqr ghannam

Hassan Hawyan

Children’s Literature Award

Ta’er al warwar’

Hassan Abdallah


Events and Seminars


Sheikh Zayed Book Award Announces Winners of Its Tenth Cycle (2015-2016)

Abu Dhabi, 6 April –Today the Sheikh Zayed Book Award announced the names of the winners of its tenth cycle (2015-2016) following the Board of Trustees’ meeting last week, which marked the last step in the selection process. The awards and winning titles are as follows: Contribution to the Development of Nations Award went to […]

Read More

Useful Downloads

Contact SZBA
Sign up to the Sheikh Zayed Book Awards Newsletter
© 2018 All Rights Reserved - Sheikh Zayed Book Awards