2015 Award Ceremony

The ceremony was held at Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre and in the presence of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai.
His Highness General Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces, honoured the winners of the 9th Zayed Book Award and paid tribute to His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, who was named the Award’s 'Cultural Personality of the Year.'

Nomination Statistics

Ceremony Details

Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre

Monday 11th May 2015

The ‘Literature’ Award went to Palestine’s Osama Alaysa for his novel ‘Majaneen bait lahem’ (The Fools of Bethlehem), while Japan’s Hanawa Haruo won the ‘Translation’ Award for his translation into Japanese of Naguib Mahfouz’s Cairo Trilogy (Palace Walk, Palace of Desire and Sugar Street). The ‘Arab Culture in Other Languages’ Award went to Japan’s Sugita Hideaki for his book ‘Arabian-Naito to Nihon-Jin’ (The Arabian Nights and the Japanese), while Lebanon’s Arab Scientific Publishers Inc. won the ‘Publishing and Technology’ Award. His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum was named 'Cultural Personality of the Year'.

Translation Award

Historic Typography of Medieval and Ancient Syria

Issam Chehadat

Publishing and Technology Award

The publishing house which has published significant works for all age groups

Arab Scientific Publishers Inc. – Lebanon

Arabic Culture in Other Languages Award

Arabian-Naito to Nihon-Jin (The Arabian Nights and the Japanese)

Sugita Hideaki – Japan

Translation Award

Naguib Mahfouz’s Cairo Trilogy (Palace Walk, Palace of Desire and Sugar Street)

Hanawa Haruo – Japan

Literature Award

Majaneen bait lahem (The Fools of Bethlehem)

Osama Alaysa – Palestine

Cultural Personality of the Year Award

One of the most prominent agents of change in all walks of cultural development

His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashed Al Maktoum



Events and Seminars


Sheikh Zayed Book Award Ninth Session Winners Announced

Abu Dhabi, April 06, 2015 – The Sheikh Zayed Book Award announced today the four winners in its 9th session (2014/2015); The ‘Literature’ Award went to Osama Alaysa from Palestine for his novel “Majaneen bait lahem” (The fools of Bethlehem), while Hanawa Haruo from Japan was named winner of the ‘Translation’ Award for his Naguib […]

Read More

Useful Downloads

Contact SZBA
Sign up to the Sheikh Zayed Book Awards Newsletter
© 2018 All Rights Reserved - Sheikh Zayed Book Awards