2015 Award Ceremony

The ceremony was held at Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre and in the presence of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai.
His Highness General Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces, honoured the winners of the 9th Zayed Book Award and paid tribute to His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, who was named the Award’s 'Cultural Personality of the Year.'

Nomination Statistics

Ceremony Details

Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre

Monday 11th May 2015

The ‘Literature’ Award went to Palestine’s Osama Alaysa for his novel ‘Majaneen bait lahem’ (The Fools of Bethlehem), while Japan’s Hanawa Haruo won the ‘Translation’ Award for his translation into Japanese of Naguib Mahfouz’s Cairo Trilogy (Palace Walk, Palace of Desire and Sugar Street). The ‘Arab Culture in Other Languages’ Award went to Japan’s Sugita Hideaki for his book ‘Arabian-Naito to Nihon-Jin’ (The Arabian Nights and the Japanese), while Lebanon’s Arab Scientific Publishers Inc. won the ‘Publishing and Technology’ Award. His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum was named 'Cultural Personality of the Year'.

Young Author Award

Burkini (Burkini)

Maya Al Hajj

Young Author Award

Sani’ Al Ala’ab (The Playmaker)

Ahmad Mohsen

Young Author Award

Al aja’ibi fil Sard Al Arabi Al Qadeem (The Magic in ancient Arabic Tales)

Nabil Elshahed

Young Author Award

Balaghat Al ‘aqel Al ‘arabi (The Intellect of the Arab Mind)

Mohammed Al Dakkan

Young Author Award

Al Raheel (Migration)

Mohammed Hasan Alwan

Literature Award

Inhiraaf Haad (Sharp Curve)-Novel

Ashraf El Khamaysi

Literature Award

Naseebi min Paris (My share of Paris)- Memoir

Ahmed El Madini

Literature Award

Wujooh Sikandariyyah (Faces from Alexandria)-Memoir

Ala’a Khaled


Literature Award

La shama tadoll ummi ‘alai (No moles to lead my mother to me)

Ghassan Zaqtan

Literature Award

Hona Al Qahira (This is Cairo)

Ibrahim Abdelmaguid

Children’s Literature Award

Al Samaka Al Mufakkira

Hassan Abdallah

Children’s Literature Award

Sitt el Koll [Against the Tide]

Taghreed Al Najjar

Arabic Culture in Other Languages Award

3. Leer La Al Hambra (Reading Al Hambra)

Jose Miguel Puerta Vilchez

Arabic Culture in Other Languages Award

A Reading of Darwin in Arab Thought, 1860-1950

Marwa Elshakry

Translation Award

A History of Anthropology

Abdou El Rayess

Translation Award

Historic Typography of Medieval and Ancient Syria

Issam Chehadat



Events and Seminars


Sheikh Zayed Book Award Ninth Session Winners Announced

Abu Dhabi, April 06, 2015 – The Sheikh Zayed Book Award announced today the four winners in its 9th session (2014/2015); The ‘Literature’ Award went to Osama Alaysa from Palestine for his novel “Majaneen bait lahem” (The fools of Bethlehem), while Hanawa Haruo from Japan was named winner of the ‘Translation’ Award for his Naguib […]

Read More

Useful Downloads

Contact SZBA
Sign up to the Sheikh Zayed Book Awards Newsletter
© 2018 All Rights Reserved - Sheikh Zayed Book Awards