SZBA 9th session winners announced

The Sheikh Zayed Book Award [SZBA] announced Monday the four winners in its 9th session (2014/2015).The Literature Award went to Osama Alaysa from Palestine for his novel, “Majaneen baitlahem” (The fools of Bethlehem), while Hanawa Haruo from Japan was named winner of the Translation Award for his work on Naguib Mahfouz’s Cairo Trilogy (Palace Walk, Palace of Desire and Sugar Street) translated to Japanese. Ali bin Tamim, Secretary-General of the Sheikh Zayed Book Award, congratulated the winners of all categories for their achievements, stressing that their work deserved this grand recognition, especially as the Sheikh Zayed Book Award thrives to live up to its name as it honours the memory of the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, and its mission to celebrate outstanding writers, intellectuals, publishers as well as young talent whose writings and translations of humanities have scholarly and objectively enriched Arab cultural, literary and social life.


Share this Article
Posted On


Share this Article

Find out how to nominate for the Sheikh Zayed Book Award

Contact SZBA
Sign up to the Sheikh Zayed Book Awards Newsletter
© 2018 All Rights Reserved - Sheikh Zayed Book Awards